Thankful

There have been many ups and downs this year, suffice it to say I am not about to participate in Facebook’s “highlights of 2015”, and I am very much ready for it to be 2016. 

But God, as I am always learning, gives good gifts to His children, and this Christmas season isn’t any different. I am not in any way diminishing or shelving the hard things, but I am feeling a little bit like I did in Germany when I started seeing the buds on the trees at the very end of a long winter…little glimmers of hope that brighter days are ahead. I am so thankful for these glimmers from the past couple months and just wanted to highlight some as an update on my last couple months:

 My new Delaware Young Life family…

 
  
Many of these moments in my parents’ cozy living room…not to mention these fab slippers from my old roomie :)…

 

Loyal friends that come all the way to Delaware to visit and bring laughter and many hours of Grey’s anatomy :)…

 A new Young Life regional family that has welcomed me with open arms and colonial garb…


Many fun Christmas parties including this one with committee and campaigners and leaders…  

Skyping and reconnecting with this good friend from college I hadn’t seen or talked to since circa 2009…this is the picture where she looks the least drunk (she actually wasn’t drunk at all)…
 
  

Midnight phone conversations and hilarious snapchats with this one who is leading Wyldlife like a boss…  

Good phone and text conversations and snail mail with this kid who sometimes freakishly finishes my sentences and who I am thankful to see God’s work in her life…

Getting real mail and a thoughtful gift from this really cool person named Mari…  

Reisinger Family Reunion and my crazy fun cousins…
 

Did I mention I have a lot of cousins? 😂 

Lots of reading (light and deep reading, obviously)…and getting my library fees waived because I hadn’t paid them since 2008…  
Being asked by my youth pastor to be a secret assassin elf for the youth group Christmas event… 
Weekly adventures with this guy…

 
And cute puppies…  

Training to be a D-Group leader (contact me if interested) …

Getting organized and doing work that I love..  

Randomly getting really into what I like to call painting therapy…

 
Coffeeeee (plus a new French press, thanks Steve) 
Getting to hang out with my siblings and my niece and nephew pups…

  
Oh and waking up to this every morning…nbd…living with your parents has its perks, everyone…

   
Not to mention praying about some exciting future next steps, the huge upcoming Young Life conference where many reunions will happen, and many other great friends in my life who have been praying for me and checking on me and just being awesome (you know who you are).

Merry Christmas to all my friends and family, I am so thankful for each and every one of you!! God and the people He has placed in my life are no doubt what is getting me through to 2016. I can’t wait to see what God has in store.

Leave a Reply

