10 books that changed my life

  1. Love Is An Orientation by Andrew Marin – an amazing book that changed the way I see my relationship to the LGBT community and how God desires us to love each other and build bridges, not argue over who is right.
  2. Love Without Agenda by Jimmy Spencer, Jr. – I just read this one, and it totally changed how I understand what being a Christian and a youth minister means, in a world where everyone is fighting over beliefs and forgetting to just love like Jesus did.
  3. Boundaries by Dr. Henry Cloud – as boundaries have always been a struggle in my life, this book was super helpful.
  4. One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp – learning to cultivate a life of gratitude even in the mundane and sometimes tragic has been one of the most valuable lessons I have ever learned.
  5. The Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne – I love this passionate guy, and I think he has a great grasp on what it means to live a true Christian lifestyle, to fight injustice, and love those less fortunate.
  6. Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller – I love this guys’ humility, sense of humor, and willingness to be honest about all the doubts and frustrations in finding God, and the pitfalls of organized religion.
  7. Searching for God Knows What by Donald Miller – another great one from Miller, focusing on our intense need for relationships and love, and especially our need for affirmation from the God who created us.
  8. The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning – a great and humbling book that helped me understand what grace is, challenged a lot of my previous thoughts, and helped me be okay with not being okay, and needing more of Jesus.
  9. A Severe Mercy by Sheldon Vanauken – This incredible story changed the way I see God’s presence and faith in the face of death and grief.
  10. The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis – the best explanation (in a parable) of heaven and hell and sin I’ve ever read.
2 thoughts on “10 books that changed my life

Leave a Reply

